Thank you

4 Dec

I will let you know how many people who clicked on the post actually made it to the end. I’ll be honest.

It could be quite sobering. For me, that is. But a writer’s life is all about measurability these days, ain’t it the truth.

4 Responses to “Thank you”

  1. Z December 4, 2009 at 12:03 pm #

    People still read? I just like to explore links 🙂

  2. n/a December 4, 2009 at 1:33 pm #

    Really? Is there some real virtue to reading ads? If the copy is longer I’m only on for the ride to see how damn manipulative these advertisements can hold my attention. I only compare these ads to other ads and so forth. Were at the point of only comparing good ads with bad ads. There’s no real value in both, only in that the cultural clever meter is put to a test. Your suggestion is that by reading ads and having longer ads will somehow be of use to you the copywriter but it still functions as exploitative, assimilating, and distracting. Being either passive watchers or participating readers still renders the same result. I’m being asked to buy into something and that’s a reason for not wanting to read at all. If there was actual content and some astute observation about our collective illusions maybe I would find that amusing but because the word length is extended doesn’t equate to a quantifiable success or failure on your part. It only suggests that you have more ad space to sell us some very expensive hot air. We do know that hot air is at premium these days. I’d rather watch the guy nodding off, somehow that reflects collectively what were all thinking.

  3. dougbrowncreative December 4, 2009 at 2:28 pm #

    Hey N/A, I’ve actually always liked advertising, even before i got in the business. I realize I’m being sold something, but I don’t always buy things solely for tangible reasons. Sometimes I connect to the brand. You no doubt have some brand loyalties…your toothpaste, your car, your razor (I’m making an assumption, perhaps correctly, that N/A is male)… that find their genesis in some connection you made to the advertising at some stage, conscious or not.
    On the long copy front, you required space in your comment to make your point. Some advertisers do likewise. Thanks for your response.

  4. dougbrowncreative December 7, 2009 at 3:42 pm #

    UPDATE. 56% of the first 100 readers of the post clicked through at the end to this page. Great numbers if I’m a Direct Marketer or a designated hitter; not so great if I’m making a case for longer copy. Half the readers either didn’t make it to the end, or were too exhausted from the effort of doing so to click on through.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

