Hanging on for dear life

7 Apr

I am grateful to the ever-resourceful Dale Baglo for sending along one of the most beautiful and moving commercials I’ve ever seen. It’s a UK seatbelt advocacy spot which you can watch by clicking this link.

It’s currently clocking in at 1:30 and I don’t know how you take it down to an affordable 30 second spot. But talk about engaging the heart and the head. I damn near bawled my eyes out. As far as public service announcements go, this one is art. The interplay of the father and daughter in slow motion and the haunting Radiohead-ish track are unforgettable.

No dead bodies, no crashing cars, no screaming. All done in a living room. It comes to us from the Sussex Safer Roads Partnership.

8 Responses to “Hanging on for dear life”

  1. Felix April 7, 2010 at 9:40 am #

    I saw this one a while back… definitely one of the most clever and interesting ads I’ve seen in a while.

  2. tom April 7, 2010 at 10:08 am #

    Using shock tactics is the knee-jerk way to do PSAs. This is arguably a more engaging and intelligent way of addressing this issue. Wonderful! Congrats to all involved.

  3. dougbrowncreative April 7, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    We love the Brits and their smart ads. By the way, once and for all, that is NOT me in the commercial. It’s my twin brother.

  4. tom April 7, 2010 at 1:43 pm #

    Here’s the info on who made it and how:
    http://bit.ly/bedZM1

  5. Michela April 8, 2010 at 10:19 am #

    I was recently looking at the top 30 freakiest ads of 2009 (as chosen by adfreak.com) and noticed that the large majority of them were PSAs. They were chosen as the freakiest for a reason; dead bodies, blood, screaming etc. work very well as shock tactics to get a message across. But after a certain point I think they begin to lose their ability to stick with people since the focus on intense and uncomfortable images is pretty similar between all of them. This ad sticks out for me because of the drastically different approach. It’s still shocking, but beautiful, poignant and simple. I think shortening it would take away from the story, the impact of the ad, and its message as a whole.

  6. dougbrowncreative April 8, 2010 at 10:57 am #

    Michela, why don’t you post the link to the freaky spots here? We love them too. And I think you’re right: its the unexpected tone of this ad that gives it such stickiness across all kinds of age groups. I showed it to my daughter this morning and she hugged me!

  7. Michela April 8, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    Here we go: http://adweek.blogs.com/adfreak/the-30-freakiest-commercials-of-2009.html

    For me, “teenage kicks” takes the cake.

  8. Connor December 18, 2010 at 8:56 pm #

    I was introduced to this ad at Shane’s NABS Cannes event. It was definitely in my top three. Very interesting!

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

