Going too far in Social Media

22 Jul

Shane Goth’s blog this week about narcissism got me thinking about the other effects of self-obsession.

I have seen people who take their interest in social media to such an extreme that it gets in the way of their family and work lives.

They interrupt family time to send a Twitpic. They tweet when they’re making out with their partner!

Reminds me of the people who become addicted to tattoos or plastic surgery. It sucks them in.

Seriously, if you are an addictive personality, these are not pastimes you can find your way back from.

Their effects are rather long-lasting. And these are not cheap obsessions.

FourSquare has allowed social media addicts to take their compulsion to a whole new level.

Now it isn’t simply enough to constantly tell others what you are doing, but where you are when you’re doing it.

My wife can already track me using the GPS in my blackberry. That’s frightening enough.

I know many admirable proponents of Social Media who are using these spaces to drive their businesses and personal interests.

But I also see others sliding into obsessive/compulsive use.

What vacuum does Social Media fill in the lives of people who use it constantly? Is it about connecting and sharing?

Or it is perhaps just another way to see yourself centre stage in life’s rich pageant?

PS. Each paragraph is 140 characters or less. How 2010 is that.

7 Responses to “Going too far in Social Media”

  1. hitgirl July 27, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    Nice one, Doug. Enjoyed this blog.

    • dougbrowncreative July 28, 2010 at 10:29 am #

      Thanks Mama Pang. Let me know if you want me to hook you up with the tattoo artist…

  2. hitgirl July 29, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    Tempting Doug. I’ve always had an untamed desire to have a checkerboard on my face. It’s both fun AND practical.

  3. dougbrowncreative July 29, 2010 at 8:44 am #

    Not so sure the checkerboard is helping sell your brand Mama Pang Pang. You may want to consider welts, scars and open bleeding cuts.

  4. designingrenee November 24, 2010 at 5:52 pm #

    It’s about instant gratification, and filling that gaping hole within that comes when we feed it with such things. Not to sound self-righteous or condemning when I say it…because I’ve been there. I used to go about my day gathering witty snippets to use for blog entries and FB updates instead of just living my life. It felt pretty empty.

  5. dougbrowncreative November 24, 2010 at 6:02 pm #

    It’s like going on vacation, or to your kid’s Christmas concert, with a video camera. I refuse to do it. Drives my wife crazy. But I want to be there, in the moment. I don’t care that I won’t have a record of it. I don’t want to watch the important moments in my life through a lens as they’re happening. It’s that detachment I think you’re referring to. Good call.

  6. designingrenee November 24, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    That’s a very intuitive choice, Doug. I used to save voicemails from my Grandmother because I wanted to have a record of her voice “just in case”. I kept loving messages from my fiancé for the same reason. I realised in the last while (I’ll keep referring to the last few years because it was a huge transition period for me) that the sense of clinging was making me unhappy and stealing my “in the moment” experience. I’ll take some pictures here and there, but won’t try to record The Moment anymore. Not only does constant recording/tweeting/fb-ing interfere with being there, but it becomes this filter that not only detaches us, but becomes a reason to just…not engage. Too tempting.

    Yet here I am commenting a go-go today! It’s that late afternoon caffeine thing again.

    BTW, I love hitgirl’s comment. Just had to say!

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

All images are copyrighted & owned by the photographer who created them. Under no circumstances shall these digital files be used, copied, displayed or pulled from this site without the expressed written consent of the photographer.

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

