Driftwood launches Fat Tug: Victoria hop wars brewing

12 Nov

I don’t know where the zaniness is going to end. But I like it.

Hot on the heels of Victoria-based Phillips Brewery’s launch of its extraterrestrially good Hop Circle IPA (“a close encounter of the thirst kind”), another top local brewer, Driftwood, brings us Fat Tug – an IPA with a 7% yank.

I love the cheekiness of it all, but I wonder how I’ll fare when I have to look a barmaid in the face and say: Can I get a Fat Tug please?

(You can see below how much more tastefully this stuff is being done south of the border, via askacopywriter’s blog.)

It’s good times for beer drinkers in Old Vic. Throw Lighthouse and Vancouver Island Brewery into the mix and we have a case to make for Victoria being the best beer city on the planet.

I’ll have that Fat Tug now.

24 Responses to “Driftwood launches Fat Tug: Victoria hop wars brewing”

  1. AT November 12, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    Also, imagine the awkwardness of asking a friend to “go get a Fat Tug” with you.

  2. dougbrowncreative November 12, 2010 at 8:36 am #

    Why don’t we do that. I haven’t tried it yet and I’m dying to.

  3. AT November 12, 2010 at 9:07 am #

    Sounds like a plan. I never say no to a Fat Tug. Well, pretty much any tug, for that matter…

  4. dougbrowncreative November 12, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Now there’s a quote! And on the Interweb where it will live forever. 🙂

  5. Amy November 12, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    So, you get to take a pull from a Tug, eh?

    I don’t drink beer, but wine makers have come out with some hilarious names. My favorite is Pinot Evil (it has the three monkeys on the lable).

  6. Mike November 12, 2010 at 1:57 pm #

    I like a lot of head on top of my Fat Tug.

  7. dougbrowncreative November 12, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    > Amy – that’s a good one. I’ve been known to enjoy a glass of Cat Pee on a Gooseberry Bush myself.

    > Mike – NICE ONE! Please see my second comment for AT above.

  8. Petra Franke November 12, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    is it a cream ale….?

  9. dougbrowncreative November 12, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    I like the way you think Petra. A career in advertising perhaps?

  10. Mike November 12, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    Sometimes I get so excited while enjoying a Fat Tug, I finish too quickly.

  11. dougbrowncreative November 12, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    I personally have the urge to light up a cigarette after one.

  12. Mike November 12, 2010 at 5:08 pm #

    I remember back when I was 16, waiting in liquor store parking lots and begging for Fat Tugs.

  13. dougbrowncreative November 12, 2010 at 5:12 pm #

    The beer launched just last month Mike. Do your parents know you’re online right now?

  14. Mike November 12, 2010 at 5:16 pm #

    Beer? What beer? 😉

  15. David November 12, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    This begs for a comment re aftertaste. It ain’t coming from me.

  16. dougbrowncreative November 12, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    David meet Mike….Mike, David.

  17. variedthinking November 12, 2010 at 8:54 pm #

    I sure could use a Fat Tug right about now but you don’t serve that sort good shit in this place

  18. David November 12, 2010 at 9:05 pm #

    Cheers to happy beginnings.

  19. dougbrowncreative November 12, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    Cheers to happy endings.

  20. manu November 17, 2010 at 4:42 pm #

    I had the Driftwood Ale downtown (at a place called Red). Really nice!

    • dougbrowncreative November 17, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

      I’m waiting for the dirty punchline Manu…

  21. designingrenee November 19, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Ordering a Fat Tug is definitely going to be part of the fun.

    I love how popular microbreweries are in Victoria. I’ve not been much of a beer drinker, but since I’ve been here, I’ve tried a few local brews and it’s a completely different experience.

    I love the packaging/design as well! Has a fresh, fun, retro feel. I’ll be looking for it!

  22. dougbrowncreative November 19, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    I actually don’t know anyone who drinks Labatt’s or Molson’s here. Or Coors or Bud or swill like that. There’s something anti-establishment about the brewery scene here. What could be more anti-establishment than Fat Tug! That’s no Canadian you’re pulling on there.

  23. designingrenee November 19, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    Labatt’s? Molson’s? C’est gauche! 🙂

    I haven’t been here long enough to check out many pubs (though I’ve gotten as far as the Strathcona to join a dart league!). However, something I’ve noticed is that there seem to be breweries that one could go to for the same purpose (drinking and general pub festivities, not so much darts). I’ve yet to visit one, but it’s high on my list of Things To Do.

    Of course there were microbreweries in Montréal (St. Ambroise, for example), but it just seemed that mostly, beer ended up in my corner déppaneur, stacked to the ceiling for constant easy access. The drinking culture there was different than it is here, partly, I think, because you can buy beer at your corner store. So I find what you said about the micro brewery culture in Victoria being “anti-establishment” in a way to be very intriguing.

    I did try a gorgeous and fragrant Herman’s dark ale at the Strathcona last Tuesday night. 3 pints of that magical elixer somehow imparted superior abilities to shoot darts with increasing accuracy! Incroyable!

    Can you recommend a particular brewery in Victoria that has a pub on site? I’d love to check it out.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

