She eats her bananas HOW?

25 Mar

I spied one of my co-workers, Andrea, peeling a banana from the bottom recently. I asked her if she was feeling well.

She gave a look that said “Duh.”

She then proceeded to tell me that bananas should properly be peeled from the bottom because they’re easier to open this way. Apparently, that’s how monkeys do it.

I think there are 2 lessons in this.

The first is that advertisers should spend more time doing behavioural research. That’s where the insights are. Learning how consumers actually behave, rather than acting on conventional wisdom and assumptions based on your own experiences, will lead to more consistent success.

The second lesson is that opening bananas from the bottom means it doesn’t end up all squashed at the stem end.

(Illustration from Slate)

16 Responses to “She eats her bananas HOW?”

  1. Felice March 25, 2011 at 8:01 am #

    Also avoids having to pick off those icky long stringy things if you peel from the bottom. You never see monkeys having to do that.

  2. dougbrowncreative March 25, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    WOW! Really? That is reason enough in itself to switch methods. You obviously speak from experience Felice. Thanks!

  3. Shane March 25, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    Another banana tip: leave one part unpeeled and you’ve got a built-in cutting board when you slice it.

  4. moe March 25, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    ah, well, far be it from me to counter the wisdom of monkeys but I usually use a knife to make a small, precise incision at the top of the banana, thus avoiding the horrors of squashage and, by keeping said tool (knife) close to hand, am able to pull those strings off if I’m not feeling like getting all icky sticky by actually using MY FINGERS to peel them off. (pause for the feeling of light-headedness at the mental image of actually coming in contact with food to pass)…

    Ahhhh, thanks Doug. My Friday needed a little comic relief…I’ll scramble back up the tree now and scratch where it itches…

    xxoo
    moe
    “Anything that begins “I don’t know how to tell you this” is never good news” Ruth Gordon

  5. dougbrowncreative March 25, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    > Good one Shane. Good survival tip. Here’s another: If you hang bananas, rather then let them lay, they will think they are still in the tree and ripen more slowly. Bananas are relatively easy to trick.

    > Back at you Moe, with the exception of that unfortunate mental image. Shudder.

  6. mike fromowitz March 25, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Wasn’t Doug Brown a banana when he lived in Asia?

  7. mike fromowitz March 25, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Bananas are in fact the result of a genetic mutation that evolved into a staple food of our society. (Hmmm, much like the business of advertising, which continues to mutate) Bananas are also the most widespread fruit in the whole world. Yum…and good for you….high in potassium and fibers (and vitamins such as B6, C and A ), and best of all their ease of use: just peel (FROM THE BOTTOM whether you are a monkey or not) and eat… They are also easy to carry around… even in your pocket.
    Remember the old line: “Is that a gun in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?”
    Or how about this: When you see a lady in a bar, never say: “The last time I saw a face like yours I threw it a banana.”
    A friend of mine’s wife went on a special banana diet. I asked him if she lost weight. “No,” he said, “but she sure can climb trees well!”
    Finally, on the subject of bananas…
    Q: What do you get if you cross a banana with a poor young female peasant?
    A: A dead peasant and a banana intent on world domination like the rest of the evil bastards.

  8. andmerson March 25, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    hahaha, you learn something new every day right? Like, how i should be a bit more careful what i eat around you!

  9. andmerson March 25, 2011 at 11:24 am #

    Question is.. Have you changed your ways?

  10. dougbrowncreative March 25, 2011 at 11:27 am #

    > Thanks for warming up the crowd Mike!

    > If you had hidden under your desk to eat that banana Andrea, we might never have known what you get when you cross a banana with a poor young female peasant…think about that before you start making these sorts of resolutions.

  11. dougbrowncreative March 25, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    Of course I haven’t changed my ways! Rather, my behaviour had been further entrenched. It’s messy and frustrating, but that’s what separates us from the apes I guess.

  12. Amy March 25, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    Mind. Officially. Blown.
    Never thought about peeling a bananna any other way than from the stem. I feel like such a lemming.
    As a child, though, I would open the cereal boxes from the bottom so the toy would be on the top. I guess that’s where my ingenuity ended.

  13. dougbrowncreative March 25, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    Amy, Andrea now has me examining all my behaviours to see if I am doing things out of habit or efficiency (which sometimes coincide). For example, I just ate my lunch and left without paying. A very liberating experience. Thanks AM!

  14. Bertha April 4, 2011 at 10:00 pm #

    This is quite possibly the funniest blog entry I have read so far. (Sorry Amy because I am a big fan of yours too)

    Doug, I did something quite similar the other day as your leaving and forgetting to pay for lunch – I left the hotel the other day with a stack of towels… we’ll not quite the same… I took those towels off the cart. I blame this behavior on my mother. She used to take everything that wasn’t bolted down at hotels. She called them freebies. Although I guess towels are a step too far. Soaps, shampoos, even toilet paper I guess is more like it.

  15. newdelhihotels123 April 5, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    Great article..

  16. dougbrowncreative April 5, 2011 at 4:26 am #

    Bertha I would say this a classic case of behaviour being handed down from generation to generation, with the evolutionary adaptation from towels to soaps and toilet paper. Blame Darwin.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

