Why doesn’t advertising always tell the truth?

10 Apr

(Guest post by 8-year old blogger Lola Brown)

My Papa tells me not to believe everything I see on TV. So I don’t.

You know what is crazy is that Dove soap commercial. They say that it isn’t like the soap that dries your skin. Well I have Dove soap at home and it dried in the soap dish. The top of it is completely covered in wrinkles. So I think the same thing will happen to my skin.

Then in the Littlest Pet Shops commercial the girls who are playing with the Pet Shops are teenagers. Teenagers don’t play with little kid toys! I play with Pet Shops. I like the bunnies the best. But I’m only 8.

Lola

6 Responses to “Why doesn’t advertising always tell the truth?”

  1. WSN Inc. April 10, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Quite frankly Lola, the people who make the ads don’t lie. Sometimes they do stretch the truth a little. Or make things look and sound bigger and better than they really are.
    In truth, it’s the clients that lie, and push the ad agencies into believing those lies.
    Perhaps the ad agencies of today fail to do enough of their homework, and take their clients to task over their over zealousness to win.
    So, in my humble opinion, I blame the clients, because I’ve never knowingly lied in the advertising I’ve done–I’ve just stuck to the agreed strategy and the facts that usually come from the clients’ marketing people.
    Hmmm. Politicians lie too… guess they do the same thing.
    They are like some of the ad agencies today. They promise and never deliver.

  2. WSN Inc. April 10, 2011 at 10:38 am #

    The above clients’ strategies… are their “marketing’ strategies, not meant to be the strategies written by the ad agency… which are therefore corrupt.

  3. Reg April 10, 2011 at 10:51 am #

    Lola, I think your observations about Littlest Pet Shops are quite good — do you have any ideas why the advertiser decided to use teenage girls (who, you’re right, don’t likely play with these toys anymore by that age) instead of girls your age? I am curious to hear what you think.

    As for Dove soap drying up and wrinkling in the dish, well, I’m not sure if that is actually evidence of it having the same effect on your skin, but you still ask a good question. Perhaps you could do an experiment, using Dove soap on one of your arms for a few days, and another soap on the other arm, and see if there’s a difference on your skin? I’ll bet you could even write Dove a letter afterwards to share your results and ask them to explain (no matter what result, good or bad, happens)! Better yet, you could blog about it, and make sure that Dove sees your writing…! I’ll read that post, if you decide to do it….

    Thank you for your thoughtful and inquisitive post. The bottom line is, advertisers (both the company/client and the agencies that help them) should not lie in their work. However, for those that do, or when you wonder if they might be doing that, what I really like hearing is that a young 8-year-old like you is learning to ask questions and challenge something that “doesn’t seem right” when you see it. Good for you!

  4. maureen blaseckie April 10, 2011 at 10:57 am #

    Well, honey, listen to your papa, he is a pretty smart guy and knows what he is talking about. My papa used to watch tv with me and taught me to think about what I was watching.

    It’s the kind of skill you will need when you get older and someone you have never met before comes along saying, “Trust me, I’m telling you the truth…” Something tells me you won’t be buying any magic beans from that guy.

    Oh, and never, ever trust someone who tells you it’s all somebody else’s fault. That’s something else my dad taught me and he was right about that too.

    You may be 8 but I’ve met people who were much older and still haven’t learned to think for themselves.

    xxoo
    Maureen (but you can call me Moe)

  5. Amy April 10, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    Question everything and everyone. Except your dad. He’s always right.

  6. dougbrowncreative April 10, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    (This is Lola responding)

    > I always do my homework Mike. 🙂

    > Do the younger girls want to be like the older girls and buy Pet Shops because the older girls play with them? You know that younger people want to be older. I want to do that experiment Reg! Not now, but soon.

    > That was pretty funny about the magic beans Moe, just like Jack and the Beanstalk.

    > I know he’s always right Amy, even if he sometimes isn’t.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

All images are copyrighted & owned by the photographer who created them. Under no circumstances shall these digital files be used, copied, displayed or pulled from this site without the expressed written consent of the photographer.

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

