Blogging advice: Love it or leave it

18 May

Having regular, interesting content is vital to a blog. I read many but subscribe to few because I find intermittent content frustrating.

Nothing perplexes me quite like noting that a blogger only posts once a month. Or less often. Is there any point? Would you follow someone who only tweeted once a month?

Regularity, as Ed McMahon pointed out, is the key to happiness.

In order to achieve that you need to be a bit manic. You have to love blogging and wholeheartedly believe in it. If you don’t love it, don’t do it. Find someone in your company who does. Here are 7 great habits of professional bloggers by ProBlogger.

A friend of mine sent me this inspiring animated gif yesterday. It perfectly sums up the attitude needed to maintain a successful blog. Be sure to click on it to watch it.

11 Responses to “Blogging advice: Love it or leave it”

  1. Dennis van Lith May 18, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Brilliant!!!!
    Way to perk up the morning with hilarious insight!

  2. Shane May 18, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Scott Stratten made a good point on this topic at last year’s Social Media Camp. He argued that there is no magical frequency to maintain when posting on a blog. It should be done as often as the writer can post interesting content. (ie, better to post great content once a month than lukewarm content weekly).

    Malcolm Gladwell only posts a couple times a year on his blog and I subscribe to it, if only to keep up on the interesting debates that develop in the comments section.

  3. amyj May 18, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    Ed McMahon was regular?!! Holy smokes. Johnny’s sidekick, cheque-presenter for Publisher’s Clearing House and two trips to drop the kids off at the swimming pool a day? Gosh. What a lucky guy.

  4. Barry Hill May 18, 2011 at 10:00 am #

    Now THAT should be an HSBC ad!
    (It’s even got the right colour palette.)
    I know you agree with me Doug.

  5. dougbrowncreative May 18, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    > Thanks Dennis. Some mornings it just feels like that. 🙂

    > I agree Shane. But Malcolm’s not using his blog as a primary vehicle to build his reputation and generate business. He doesn’t need to do it, so he doesn’t. Quality always trumps quantity, but lots of quality is even better.

    > I think he only dropped off the kids at the pool once a day Amy. He ate very little I understand.

    > You are too right Baz! Looks like some online ads I did for HSBC.

  6. Amy May 18, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    I go through so many keyboards that way!

    Due to time constraints, lately I’ve only been able to post once or twice a week. I couldn’t imagine posting less often than that. But, I would never post just to have something new on my front page. I try to make it worth people’s while to read. It’s the least I can do!
    Now, there are some blogs that I follow that post two-three times a day, every day. I can’t keep up with them! I think that overkill is just as annoying as a long wait between posts.

  7. dougbrowncreative May 18, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    That’s an interesting comment Amy. Every Uniblogger walks a fine line between posting regularly and becoming obnoxious. Something we all need to be aware of! A drop in subscriptions usually tells the tale….

  8. :]ack May 18, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Is that your intern turning back into a zombie?

  9. dougbrowncreative May 18, 2011 at 11:39 am #

    Well we do work the interns pretty hard here Jack. But not as hard as they work themselves. Messy business though. 😉

  10. hitgirl May 19, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Doug, I updated my blog yesterday for the first time in a month. And for the last couple of months it’s been very intermittent. I had been a consistent blogger for a long while and this break certainly wasn’t the best thing to do to increase my readership. But, a whole bunch of life happened and I ain’t no machine! 🙂

  11. dougbrowncreative May 19, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    If people find value in your blog Sandy, which I’m sure they do, i think they will hang on for a while. But with millions of blogs to consume, it’s easy to slip away into the abyss if you don’t keep the momentum going. I hope you’re back up Uniblogging again soon!

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

