How do you keep up with the trends in social media?

10 Jun

The earth spinning madly out of controlThere’s probably no more daunting question to be asked than “So what’s the lastest trend in social media?” I mean, how do you define “latest”?

This morning? Last night? Given the relentless pace with which new platforms and services are arriving on the scene, it’s a full-time job to keep track.

Here are 5 places I go every day to keep myself reasonably current:

Twitter  As Tom noted in his refreshing shot across the bows last week, Twitter is increasingly about content pushing and less about social engagement. That’s brilliant though if you’re looking for content. When you follow wired-in people like Mark Schaefer, Simon Salt or Pete Cashmore, you get a steady stream of hot tips and pithy critiques.

Mashable  Speaking of steady streams, holy crap. If I could only follow one tweeter, this would be the one. But I miss a lot, so it’s easier for me to check in to mashable.com and cherry pick the stuff that jumps out at me.

Blogs  I read a lot of blogs, and not all of them are social media blogs. But the ones I value, such as Jay Baer’s convinceandconvert, I subscribe to. So I don’t have to go hunting around for that review of the newest shiny bauble.

Google Reader  This is my fave newsreader. It helps me to wade through stuff and keeps me somewhat organized, never my strong point. I visit everyday and always end up tucking into something interesting. Here’s a pretty good post from Stan Schroeder on making the most of this reader.

Smart people  No this is not the latest social platform. I really feel that most of the trends I become aware of are brought to my attention by the people I work with and interact with online.

How do you keep up? Can you add something to the list?

7 Responses to “How do you keep up with the trends in social media?”

  1. scribbler9 June 10, 2011 at 1:18 pm #

    Great reminder – Mashable is a wonderful resource for what’s going on in the SM world.

  2. Amy June 10, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Thanks for this post Doug – Stan Schroeder’s link in particular – setting up a reader is something I’ve been putting off for FAR too long. I am sadly still looking for email subscription fields on the blogs I like to follow. Eep! should I have admitted that?! Anyway, one thing I subscribe to that I find really helpful for keeping up with SoMe trends is the Social Media Examiner: http://www.socialmediaexaminer.com. Thanks again! I always enjoy your posts 🙂

  3. Doug Brown June 10, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    > Melanie I understand there’s a veritable army of people there churning out content, but it’s focused and almost always interesting.

    > Thanks for the link to the Social Media Examiner Amy. I read it some time ago and then forgot about it. Coming back to it now reminds me how good it is.

  4. incslinger June 10, 2011 at 2:09 pm #

    Thanks for including me in this post. I’d add read write web, techcrunch & MarketingProfs to the reading list. Of course the real list is endless, there are so many great sources out there. I use Pulse as an app to help filter the news streams and that makes me slightly more efficient.

  5. Doug Brown June 10, 2011 at 2:41 pm #

    Good links Simon, thank you. You’re right of course. The list is limitless. Our time isn’t though! I like the What’s Hot navigation on http://techcrunch.com/ I could definitely get into that site. Cheers.

  6. Shane June 10, 2011 at 2:45 pm #

    Great sources Doug. I think a nice digestif after these sites is talking to some non-industry friends and family about their own SM behaviour. Keeps the head screwed on right as to how the masses are *actually* using SM, not just the ‘latest and greatest’ industry hipsters.

  7. Doug Brown June 10, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Most of my friends tell me their S&M behaviour is none of my business Shane. 😉

    No, great point. Especially for advertisers. What our audience is doing is what matters.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

All images are copyrighted & owned by the photographer who created them. Under no circumstances shall these digital files be used, copied, displayed or pulled from this site without the expressed written consent of the photographer.

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

