When do you find time to think?

24 Sep

You’ve probably seen the video of the woman walking through the shopping mall texting on her mobile device. If not, brace yourself.

She is an icon of our times, however unwittingly. We are so hyper-connected that free-time, in particular time to think, has been filled with technology, information and social connectivity.

So I wondered when do the people who have to think  – and that would be all of us – actually find the time to do so these days?

Jay Baer author of The Now RevolutionJay Baer : The reality is I think when I’m on planes. I write 90% of my blog posts in the sky, and it’s the one time I can block out everything. Fortunately I fly enough that I get good stretches of thinking time on a regular basis.

 

Simon Salt author of Social Location MarketingSimon Salt : I think when I’m in the shower before bed. I go in there knowing I will use the time to just think about things I need to be thinking about. The hot water relaxes me and helps me focus.

 

Doug Brown from CopelandMe : I walk to work and back every day at a brisk pace. That gives me two x 20 minute stretches of pure thinking-time. The speed ramps up the urgency and normally the critical stuff comes up right away.

So when or where do you get your thinking done?

10 Responses to “When do you find time to think?”

  1. hitgirl September 24, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

    Not thinking is more valuable to me lately. I think too much, and sadly, most of the content is gibberish.

  2. Doug Brown September 24, 2011 at 7:53 pm #

    That’s not the smart, thoughtful entrepreneur I know Sandy!

  3. hitgirl September 24, 2011 at 8:03 pm #

    VHFHgfyyygfdfh(;:())$

  4. Doug Brown September 25, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    #ke i83jbf9 fhfk0w2 fh ….. 393hd fof @ nuts.

  5. Eleanor September 26, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Walking to work is a big one–I choose not to drive or bike so that I have that time. Seems like transit times are a big one. When I lived in Vancouver, riding the bus was a great thinking time, although way back then I didn’t have a mobile!

  6. Doug Brown September 26, 2011 at 1:50 pm #

    I would think that your walks outdoors are about to become shorter and shorter as the temperature drops though Eleanor, no?

  7. Eleanor September 26, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    Surprisingly, I’d rather walk in a warm parka than drive. Walking for 20 mins gets the blood flowing a lot better than sitting in a cold metal box (car) for five minutes.

  8. Eleanor September 26, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    ps. The first slushy hail just fell… though the skies are blue again already.

  9. Doug Brown September 26, 2011 at 6:24 pm #

    I remember that slushy hail so fondly from my first trip to Yellowknife last September. It brings a tear to my eye to recall it. AS for your cold metal box analogy, I hear they are going to introduce heated cars this year!!

  10. Eleanor September 27, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    ha! yes, finally.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

