Use words to nail a perfect idea

3 Feb

In my professional bios, I always state that I am still in hot pursuit of the perfect idea. I define perfection as simplicity, beauty and absolute executional relevance to the product.

Have I ever come close? Perhaps on two occasions, both print ads. Coincidentally, they shared a theme of being type-only ads where the words tell the visual story.

I was influenced in this regard by the legendary New York graphic designer Bob Gill, who loved type-only design and applied the concept of reductum ad infinitum with relish. He removed everything from his designs except what was essential to telling the story. His United Nations lunch series invitation inspires me still.

U.N. lunch invite by Bob Gill

Bob is 80 now and his website still crackles with energy and simplicity.

I came across these word-as-image examples and recognized in them not only the excellent logo of a fellow T-CAAN agency, Vancouver’s Elevator Strategy, but a number of executions which nail my definition of the perfect idea. Most of them would make memorable animated logos.

I loved Voyeur the best. Which was your favourite?

4 Responses to “Use words to nail a perfect idea”

  1. tribalstylemarketing February 3, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    Nice, that is cool! I liked Eclipse, Marilyn (for obvious reasons), Dali, & Condom.

  2. Doug Brown February 3, 2012 at 12:53 pm #

    Marilyn was sweet too, I agree. I can’t say they all nailed it, but the level of creative problem solving was pretty solid. Glad you enjoyed.

  3. Eleanor February 6, 2012 at 1:14 pm #

    Bah ha ha! That was just what I needed on a busy morning. I don’t know if I can pick a favourite… but I think the sound effects added a tremendous amount of the punch to many of them.

  4. Doug Brown February 6, 2012 at 9:47 pm #

    I think too few agencies use sound on their sites Eleanor, so I see huge opportunity to engage that sense. Of course not everyone wants to know what teeth sinking into flesh sounds like…

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

All images are copyrighted & owned by the photographer who created them. Under no circumstances shall these digital files be used, copied, displayed or pulled from this site without the expressed written consent of the photographer.

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

