Get up, dammit

19 May

muhammad ali standing over sonny liston

This is my first blog post since March 4th. Anyone who knows me also knows I am a blogging demon, usually throwing up 3-4 posts a week.

But I took a hit in March that I’m still recovering from. A big enough hit that my blogging voice was utterly silenced.

I’ve used the time to assess how I found myself on my ass on the canvas in the first place, and to figure out how to avoid ending up there again. A bit like a boxer letting the ref count to 8 before hopping up and resuming the fight. The extra time clears the head.

My head feels a bit clearer now and although I’m not entirely steady on my legs yet, it looks like I’m ready to start swinging again.

I have to give credit and thanks to the people in my corner: my family – Mom and Dad, my brothers Jim and Dave, Shimpi and Lola; my buddies Mark and Tom and Karin and Rod and Tony and Mary, who listened, then offered me wisdom and ring generalship advice; my friends at Copeland – Michael, Danny, Andrea, Rose, Asmaa and Jodie; my favourite mouthpieces Christine and Trisha; my friends at Aasman, Kellett, Quarry, ZGM and Revolution Strategy; and my new friends Carol and Gary, for offering a hand to get me up on my feet. Of course there are others.

You can’t get anywhere in life without good people behind you.

The next post will be about advertising and it will be funnier, I promise.

My head won’t be spinning as much and I won’t feel like puking.

38 Responses to “Get up, dammit”

  1. Dave Brown May 19, 2012 at 3:53 am #

    I didn’t hear no bell. Just one more round….Rocky 5

  2. Jack Steinmann May 19, 2012 at 4:05 am #

    Doug,

    You’re a good man.

    Jack

  3. cb1ndustri May 19, 2012 at 4:11 am #

    fight on Doug. I know you can do it man.

  4. Doug Brown May 19, 2012 at 4:32 am #

    > Dave, Jack and Charlie…what are you doing up!

    Thanks a lot guys. 🙂

  5. Mary B May 19, 2012 at 4:33 am #

    You just can’t keep a good man down! What else ya suppose to do? …..ya get up!

    • Doug Brown May 19, 2012 at 4:38 am #

      Ya get up DAMMIT!

  6. jmulvey May 19, 2012 at 5:28 am #

    Go Doug!

    Past the worst now. Lots of interesting work ahead.

    • Doug Brown May 19, 2012 at 12:12 pm #

      Cheers James, good to be tackling some of that with you.

  7. Carol May 19, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    Already happy we know you…

    • Doug Brown May 19, 2012 at 12:14 pm #

      Very much reciprocated Carol. Let’s not forget about that sake!

  8. margriet aasman May 19, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

    I feel humbled… only wish we could do more than just show verbal support. I am so glad you are writing a blog again. I sure missed them… and seeing someone begin to recover is positive for us all. Keep it up Doug, and I really look forward to seeing you in person soon.

    • Doug Brown May 19, 2012 at 4:39 pm #

      Margriet, you and your gang have been tremendous. Let me know your Victoria itinerary so we can plan for that dinner. I’m really looking forward to seeing you.

  9. Yukari Peerless May 19, 2012 at 4:21 pm #

    Welcome back to the ring Doug. Let the new fight begin! 🙂 Coffee soon?

    • Doug Brown May 19, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

      Definitely Yukari…let’s get together this week. Thanks for all your support.

  10. louisa May 20, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

    Doug, it is so good to hear your voice again. You have been missed.

    louisa

    • Doug Brown May 20, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

      Thanks a lot Louisa. But be careful what you wish for… 😉

  11. Christine May 20, 2012 at 5:16 pm #

    Ah Doug. It’s wonderful to have your voice back on the blog waves. Looking forward to the funny!

    • Doug Brown May 20, 2012 at 9:22 pm #

      Speaking of good people behind me…thank you Christine. For everything.

  12. regetable May 20, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Doug, you are a true fighter, and you have unbelievable experience under your belt — you will find, or fashion, or both, a new role in no time and be swinging mightily once more.

    This recent setback, while having knocked you to the canvas, is not unlike (dare I compare it…?) to the old adage, “Better to have loved and lost than to never have loved at all.” When I apply that to the context of your entrepreneurial spirit and efforts at Copeland, I truly feel like you did the right thing. Original, creative, tough, thoughtful, fun, hard-working, talented, strategic — need I go on about your talents? I think that, as tough as it’s been with all that’s occurred the past several months, you will (and already are, no doubt) take some powerful lessons (business, life, personal, you name it) from this experience and be the better for it.

    And remember the words of Sir WInston Churchill in the darkest hours of WWII: “When you’re going through hell, keep going.”

    Much strength, support and respect to you — and keep going…!

    Reg

    • Doug Brown May 21, 2012 at 2:11 am #

      Good call on the life lessons Reg. The important ones have a way of getting your attention. I appreciate, as always, you stopping by to offer your support and friendship.

  13. WildPlayer May 20, 2012 at 10:50 pm #

    One of my teachers tells me “Never give up, Always let go”…both are damn hard to do sometimes…You are doing fine…

    • Doug Brown May 21, 2012 at 2:13 am #

      Sound hard to do at the same time. But I figure a guy who’s willing to throw himself off a bridge would know something about not giving up, whilst simultaneously letting go. I get it. Thanks Tom. You’ve been awesome.

  14. Deb Pound May 21, 2012 at 4:19 pm #

    Hey my friend – ALWAYS going to be in your corner. You are the most creative, sensitive caring man I know – and your strength of character and true grit will out – you’ve got lots of us in your corner. Hugs my friend and the offer I made on the phone will always be there for you as well. Deb

    • Doug Brown May 21, 2012 at 8:22 pm #

      Deb you’re the best. What a lovely comment. Hey, I have your Canoe Club wink winks! Will get them to you this week.

  15. David Lee May 22, 2012 at 11:41 am #

    Hi Doug, I have faith in you, and as Winston Churchill said in his famous commencement speech to Harvard, “Never Give Up!, ……… Never Give Up!”

    David

    • Doug Brown May 22, 2012 at 1:01 pm #

      David thanks for stopping by with Winnie to inspire me. It’s a great refrain and I will remember it!

  16. Chris Burdge (@b_WEST) May 22, 2012 at 5:26 pm #

    Good to see you back on your feet Doug. Many would stay down & count the sheep…

    • Doug Brown May 22, 2012 at 6:22 pm #

      Wow is that Haiku Chris? Thanks man…and thanks for the hot tip today. Much appreciated.

  17. David Walker May 22, 2012 at 6:03 pm #

    Doug – glad to see back to the writing.
    Just sent you a picture. It’s just a little piece of paper you left for me to find about 15 years ago. Thank you for all the motivation you provided then!

    • Doug Brown May 22, 2012 at 6:32 pm #

      Ok, that did a number on me David. I can’t believe you saved that piece of paper. What a thing to read. I will try and heed my own advice, and you have no need to thank me for anything. I was fortunate to in the right place at the right time, as our long friendship attests to.

      But look, now I’ve gone and dangled a participle.

  18. hill copywriting May 25, 2012 at 6:52 pm #

    Hey Doug, didn’t read all the above due to lack of time, but glad doing better!

    • Doug Brown May 28, 2012 at 2:21 pm #

      Slowly down the Ganges Baz..thanks for the good vibes.

  19. Maloney Baloney May 31, 2012 at 2:29 am #

    Great to have the blogging demon back. I may be many many moons away now, but your still my poster!

    • Doug Brown May 31, 2012 at 5:25 am #

      You’re not so far away digger. Just a nano-second in cyber space. Hope the antipodean lifestyle is agreeing with you. Let me know how you’re making out Lindsey. And say hi to Nicole for me!

  20. Catherine Novak October 11, 2012 at 10:03 am #

    As one who’s been knocked to the canvas a few times… it always sucks. But at least it isn’t cement. I’m late to this thread, and hope that the months in between have you at least hitting the heavy bag again, training for your next big match. Redbird is lucky to have you – so is Victoria!

    • Doug Brown October 11, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      What a sweet comment Catherine. Thanks for your thoughtfulness. I am back in the swing and have lots to keep me busy. The dark days are behind me now. Great to hear from you!

      • Jack Steinmann October 11, 2012 at 11:58 am #

        Doug? Are you landed? Great news!

  21. Doug Brown October 11, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    This will give you the low-down Jack! https://dougbrowncreative.wordpress.com/2012/09/19/what-the-hell-am-i-doing/

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

All images are copyrighted & owned by the photographer who created them. Under no circumstances shall these digital files be used, copied, displayed or pulled from this site without the expressed written consent of the photographer.

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

