Find out how potent the local grass is

22 Jun

daisies growing in the grass with blue sky background

I would argue that we’re more disposed to get closer to a company when it proves itself useful to us without pushing its product down our throats.

More and more, businesses are seeing the value of utility, and recognizing the social sharing potential in that.

Here’s a great example: Claritin has an app for allergy sufferers that alerts you to changes in the pollen count on your mobile device or tablet.

Claritin Pollen Alert app on mobile devices

If you suffer from seasonal allergies – as I do – then finding out which pollen counts are up can be very helpful. If grass is high, I’m in trouble.

The Claritin Pollen Alert, which is location-based, shows pollen obnoxiousness in real-time. Today, for example, the pollen count is at the maximum. The chief pests are grass and evergreen trees, with a sprinkling of sorrel and dock (weeds).

That will explain why I have an electric toothbrush in my ear.

What’s the value in knowing? Well, when I see the count is high in the morning, and that my particular allergens are flagged, I know it’s going to be a bad day. I double-dose my Claritin right out of the gate, rather than have my histamine go into production overdrive after being outside for a few hours and have to scramble to get it to settle down.

That’s helpful. And now I’ve shared it.

Nice work Claritin.

4 Responses to “Find out how potent the local grass is”

  1. Amy June 22, 2012 at 10:50 am #

    Curious as to how much unintended traffic you generate from the title of this post. 🙂

    • Doug Brown June 22, 2012 at 10:53 am #

      Millions, with any luck. 😉

  2. Brad Tribbeck (@bradtribbeck) June 22, 2012 at 12:07 pm #

    I totally could have used this earlier this week! Fantastic use of an app.
    Great thinking from Claritin. I’m a Reactin guy myself, though.

    • Doug Brown June 22, 2012 at 12:25 pm #

      So was I Brad. But every year I have to switch to something new to reap any benefit. I feel that Claritin has earned my trial this year with this smart app.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

