What the hell am I doing?

19 Sep

A number of people have asked me what I’m up to these days, so I thought it was time to spill the beans.

Doug Brown Redbird Communications Victoria BC

1. I am now working part-time with Carol Vincent and her team at Redbird Communications here in Victoria. It’s been very rewarding work, and Carol’s approach to running an agency has been enlightening. I’ve learned a ton, always a good sign.

Carol quite literally came to my rescue in The Dark Days and has been a genuine and gracious mentor to me. I couldn’t have found a better person to work for.

It’s a smart gang and the transition has been an easy one.

Redbird’s client base includes The Heart  & Stroke Foundation, BC Hydro, and The Vancouver Sun & The Province newspapers, the last of which has shown incredible loyalty by coming over with me from Copeland.

2. I am helping Robbins Parking, another former Copeland client, with a number of marketing and branding initiatives.

I can’t say enough good things about this company either – and if I didn’t mean that I would simply keep my mouth shut and say nothing. They are 7 years into exporting their management model into Texas, and are now one of the two largest parking management companies in that state. This is a huge Victoria success story.

Mike Kirk website design for Robbins Parking

I’ve been working on their new website with designer/developer Mike Kirk and we just launched it last month. Melaina Haas wrote it and Derek Ford took the pics, two of my fave Victoria peeps.

3. I’ve also popped out a few campaigns for some fine ad agencies from the T-CAAN network I used to belong to.

I’m grateful to have all this work. And, well,  that’s what’s keeping me busy.

 

 

20 Responses to “What the hell am I doing?”

  1. hill copywriting September 19, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Great to hear Doug!

    • Doug Brown September 19, 2012 at 1:28 pm #

      Cheers Bazz. Thanks for loyally reading my posts too!

  2. Carol September 19, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    You’re a great addition to the team, Doug — we can already see why your former colleagues speak so highly of you.

    • Doug Brown September 19, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

      Very nice of you to say Carol. I am looking forward to the collaboration for all the reasons we spoke of.

  3. Dave September 19, 2012 at 12:39 pm #

    You have and always will land on your feet Doug. Glad to hear that things are going so well.

    • Doug Brown September 19, 2012 at 1:37 pm #

      Actually I’ve landed on my head a few times Dave and other parts of my anatomy which you have no doubt witnessed! But thanks for the vote of confidence.

  4. hill copywriting September 20, 2012 at 6:53 am #

    Thanks for saying. BTW, I’m still recovering from ’08 myself. (Any overflow work, please let me know.) I hope to be Google AdWords certified soon. Onwards and upwards bro 🙂

    • Doug Brown September 20, 2012 at 7:16 am #

      I’m still recovering from ’89, Barry, but I will keep you in mind! Good luck on the certification.

  5. maureen September 20, 2012 at 9:19 am #

    Super news, Doug. And a wee bit of a challenge to start you off with Robbins Parking. I can’t wait to see what you do with them…

    • Doug Brown September 20, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      Thanks Moe, I like challenges! But meanwhile, I’m still trying to figure out oh-be-joyfuls… 😉

  6. Kevin Stacey September 20, 2012 at 9:42 am #

    Doug, thanks for the great job on the website, feedback has been great from our Landlords and Customers.

    • Doug Brown September 20, 2012 at 9:47 am #

      Kevin, how good of you to stop by and leave that comment. I will share your feedback with the rest of the gang who put the site together. Thank you!

  7. lindsmaloney September 22, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    Love it. Doug, if you were buttered toast, you’d land butter side up.

    • Doug Brown September 22, 2012 at 4:33 pm #

      Is that an Australian expression Lindsey? It’s awfully good of you to say it. I guess if it was really Aussie it would be “vegemite side up”.

      I was just thinking of you this week and wondering how you’re making out down there, aside from firing rifles. I miss you!

      • lindsmaloney September 22, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

        Nope, not an Aussie saying, just quick on my toes.
        Doing great in Melb. Spring has kick started and the weather’s starting to get nice. Clem’s is going great and tones of fun.
        Miss ya heaps too. Glad to see your working with team red.

  8. Doug Brown September 22, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    I’m sure you’re contributing hugely to that fun Lindsey. So glad to hear you are representing so well down there. I’ll check out the Clem site! Cheers for now.

    • Jane Victoria King September 24, 2012 at 5:05 pm #

      Haven’t meant you in person yet Doug, but from what I’ve read and your support to my blog posts and what I do know about Carol (AWESOME Lady!) sounds like a perfect fit! Congrats!

      • Doug Brown September 24, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

        Ah well, you have a great blog Jane…that’s why! Thanks for your support and this sweet comment. I do hope to meet you in person soon.

  9. Jack Steinmann October 11, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    Doug,

    Glad to see that Victoria still has you, front and center!

    Best,

    Jack

    • Doug Brown October 11, 2012 at 1:53 pm #

      Well maybe not front and centre Jack – perhaps along the side and leaning towards centre! Thanks, as always, for your support and friendship.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

