6 reasons why you should read this advertising blog regularly

15 Oct

WordPress, the platform that hosts this blog, has about 20 million active bloggers, with about 500,000 new posts published every day. Why is this one – a small Victoria, BC advertising blog – worth your time?

Allow me to offer 6 reasons for your consideration.

Boxers on a clothesline

1. To get an insider’s view of an outsider’s business. Advertising is a very public industry. Our ideas hang out in full view all the time. But what’s never particularly well-documented is what the industry thinks of itself. I am no evangelist and freely offer up the goods, however beautiful or ugly, wherever I find them.

2. Because advertising is important. We stop drunk drivers, reach out to pregnant teens, encourage responsible use of our natural resources, stimulate the economy, build bridges between cultures, promote the benefits of a regular poop. We may not be “professionals” in the sense that doctors, lawyers or accountants are, and there is no exam to pass or threshold of accreditation to cross to get into the club. But our business attracts some of the most insightful, relentless and creative minds on the planet,  very handy when you’re trying to raise awareness and change behaviours.

3. For Maureen Blaseckie’s comments. When I see that I have a comment from this wonderfully witty Victoria woman, I know the insight and entertainment value of my post has just gone way up.  See what I mean here and here. I hope you appreciate Moe’s parries and thrusts as much as I do.

4. Because you love advertising. Well you do. And so do I. When I first fell in love with Marvel the Mustang in the late 60’s, I was falling for advertising too….I just didn’t yet know it. You are the same. Yes, advertising can try the patience of a Buddhist monk. But no relationship is perfect.

 

5. Because I’m not a big head. I’ve known my share, and believe me this industry sure knows how to attract them. But I don’t have an agenda to sell here, no book to flog, no career credentials to pad. I may offer opinions, but I try to open the door to discussion. The juicy tidbits of my business that I find and share, and the dialogue that ensues, keeps advertising in the conversation, and that’s what I care about. I can say without any false modesty that I am the least interesting thing about this blog.

6. You love me! (Well look, my dad and brother Dave subscribe to the blog, so technically I can say it.)

If you haven’t yet subscribed, you can do so in the column on the right. I appreciate every reader very much. Thanks!

 

6 Responses to “6 reasons why you should read this advertising blog regularly”

  1. maureen October 16, 2012 at 4:56 am #

    your cheque’s in the mail…..xxxooo

    • Doug Brown October 16, 2012 at 5:05 am #

      The hotel in Toronto didn’t lose the invoice??

  2. thatguylam October 18, 2012 at 12:55 pm #

    Thanks for sharing this, Doug. All great reasons to blog (& excellent reminders for me doing the gig in Vancouver)!

    • Doug Brown October 18, 2012 at 1:19 pm #

      Thanks for reading Lam. Are you writing an ad blog? Drop a link here in the comments section!

      • thatguylam October 18, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

        Yup I’m blogging. I think you can hit it by clicking my name but here it is in its full glory: http://thatguylam.posterous.com/
        It’s a blog, perhaps not so specifically an ad blog but I touch on it. Occasionally.
        (and it’s all advertising, isn’t it?…)

  3. Doug Brown October 18, 2012 at 1:32 pm #

    Love the post that’s a run-down of 6 years of your life summarized in a few bullets! I’m looking forward to getting stuck into your archives this weekend. Thanks a lot for sharing your blog Lam.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

All images are copyrighted & owned by the photographer who created them. Under no circumstances shall these digital files be used, copied, displayed or pulled from this site without the expressed written consent of the photographer.

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

