So many dumb ways to die

18 Nov

It’s not very bright to die stupidly. In fact, it’s dumb.

But don’t take my word for it. Pause your life for a moment and watch this memorably funny, gory and charming little animated public service announcement out of McCann in Melbourne for the local public train system.

 

Think of all the shocking scenarios that might have ended up on the screen to remind the audience of the confluences of everyday life and stupid acts – especially with high speed trains in the picture.

The Brand Interventionist Recommends

This commercial should be seen by any advertiser about to embark on a public safety campaign. It recognizes that safety is not what’s being sold here, but smarts.

Hence the approach that pokes at our brain rather than our stomach.

 

12 Responses to “So many dumb ways to die”

  1. Amy November 18, 2012 at 9:43 am #

    I’ve watched this like three times! The animation is just adorable and the song is so catchy. I love that it’s basically saying “Don’t be an idiot” in the cutest way possible.

    • Doug Brown November 18, 2012 at 9:45 am #

      I can’t get that song out of my head. It’s so distracting I cut off all my fingers chopping onions last night while I was singing it!

  2. Terrance Lam (@kinematicdigit) November 18, 2012 at 10:11 am #

    Great example. I’ll have to remember to share this with my class when they work on their PSA assignment. Too often they think they need to shock the audience and less reliance on delivering a message that is thought provoking.

    Super glue those fingers back Doug, but don’t swallow the tube.

    • Doug Brown November 18, 2012 at 10:14 am #

      I think most good PSAs work the brain anyway Terrance. I tell you what, no way am I taking my helmet off in outer space now! So it worked.

      • Christie November 20, 2012 at 10:54 am #

        I completely cancelled my plans to play with that hornet’s nest outside after work today. Double-booked myself anyway.

      • Doug Brown November 20, 2012 at 11:08 am #

        How many times have you watched the entire spot? I have probably viewed it 10 times by now…still finding things to like, not the least the dance moves of the little potato who sold his kidneys on the Internet. 🙂

      • Christie November 20, 2012 at 11:32 am #

        I enjoy them all, but I particularly like the little guy who can’t dance with the bunch because he swallowed the super glue. I enjoy the follow-through. The guy waving his own eye balls like a lighter at a concert cracks me up as well.

      • Doug Brown November 20, 2012 at 11:46 am #

        Yes they are fun. Generally for me – and this is probably owing to my immersive zombie experience – the more gore the better.

  3. Damen K November 21, 2012 at 5:04 pm #

    That’s an awesome video and its pretty funny. However, do you think people might not really take the ad seriously if it has such a funny/humorous/cute appeal it it ? Wont it loose its effectiveness if it communicates with people using such a childlike tone?

    • Doug Brown November 21, 2012 at 8:14 pm #

      I think people will enjoy the message Damen, love watching it over and over and admit to themselves that doing stupid things is, well, stupid. I believe it will work!

  4. Don Bull November 21, 2012 at 11:46 pm #

    My brothers stuffed me in the dryer. The light does indeed go out.

    • Doug Brown November 22, 2012 at 6:33 am #

      Ha! Oops, perhaps I shouldn’t laugh. Such cruel brothers. I’d be interested to hear sometime how you got even.

      How cool to hear from you DB.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

All images are copyrighted & owned by the photographer who created them. Under no circumstances shall these digital files be used, copied, displayed or pulled from this site without the expressed written consent of the photographer.

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

