Starting the New Year off with a bang

15 Jan

I’m thrilled for my first post of the year to be an introduction to my new brand and logo.

Oh, you’ve seen Brand Intervention winking away up there in the masthead for a few months now, but I needed a really cool logo to make it official.

logo for Doug Brown's Brand Intervention

I think my friend (and graphic design genius) Neil Tran killed this.

I’ll be following this up toot sweet with a new website and refreshed blog design.

Until then, it’s back to hunting down those brands that are making a hash of things – or doing it unreasonably well – and sharing my insights about them with you here.

Bang! We’re off…

 

25 Responses to “Starting the New Year off with a bang”

  1. Kevin Stacey January 15, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

    Doug, I have to be on the other side of the fence when using guns in a logo, maybe I misunderstood the message. With the recent events in the news, I don’t think guns are a way to get a point across. I will not vent, 20 years in the military taught me to respect the power of a firearm.

    • dongrgic January 15, 2013 at 4:50 pm #

      Kevin, certainly not defending fire arms, I’d say it depends on your market.. and I don’t think Doug is tarketing mom and pop but rather business and with the “Tarentino” style logo I don’t see an issue in what he is trying to represent.

    • Doug Brown January 15, 2013 at 6:13 pm #

      Kevin thanks for your comment. I am listening to the all the opinions here and will take them into consideration. Sometimes the world turns on certain issues and brands have to pay attention.

  2. dongrgic January 15, 2013 at 4:47 pm #

    It’s a killer Doug.. ;-p

    • Doug Brown January 15, 2013 at 6:14 pm #

      That was the idea Don! Opinions seem split and I am doing my best to hear the various sides but not letting them drown out my own thoughts. Cheers!

  3. Lynne DeCew January 15, 2013 at 4:48 pm #

    Sorry Doug, this looks like a deranged priest about to blow my head off. Edgy is good, but to me – especially in the wake of recent US massacres – this one is over the line.

    • Doug Brown January 15, 2013 at 6:17 pm #

      Lynne I sincerely appreciate your honest comment. Being a deranged priest is not a bad thing! I know that guns didn’t hurt Skyfall this past month….I want to be wary of people picking and choosing when guns are ok for entertainment, and when they’re not. I’m not saying you are flipping or flopping, but there are sure lots of strong opinions.

  4. maureen January 15, 2013 at 5:40 pm #

    y’know, despite my dislike of fetishistic Tarantino worship, this is not the place to bring it up (except I just did…hmmm) and as a huge fan of Mark Twain and the need to assess imagery according to the temporal context of the author/artist rather than of the viewer before applying interpretations, except where a Brechtian dissonance is the desired result And (pauses to take a breath) because you is mah friend and you’ve been tied to fortuna’s capricious wheel for way too long, I can definitely get behind the sentiment.
    Without too much exaggeration, there have been many days I would like to have had the chance to metaphorically blow away the bad guys.
    I especially like the way you’ve made the scary hitman/fake priest look like you… because you are the antithesis of violence so, that’s, like, so ironic and Brechtian…
    love ya.

    • Doug Brown January 15, 2013 at 6:18 pm #

      Mo, would you write all my future posts please?

      • VB January 15, 2013 at 11:21 pm #

        Well, no. Because that would mean I’d have to actually know something. This way you know the stuff and I make crap up afterwards. This makes you an expert and me a pundit….like CBC vs Fox news…
        Keep your chin up, baby but don’t lead with it.

        xxoo

      • Doug Brown January 15, 2013 at 11:26 pm #

        You’re awesome. Thanks for the relentless support and great commentary. Makes my blog more interesting and my intellectual life richer.

  5. Craig January 15, 2013 at 5:52 pm #

    certainly a bold brand statement but if you’re going for the broader brand consultancy market I think you are limiting yourself. but hey if you have the right niche then it will work well.

    • Doug Brown January 15, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

      Good insight. Thanks for that Craig. I would have responded sooner but unfortunately your comment was whisked into a spam folder! Cheers.

  6. anonymous January 15, 2013 at 8:22 pm #

    Honest opinion, I like it. I think everything works except the typeface. I’d take another look at the typeface ; )

  7. Margriet Aasman January 15, 2013 at 9:09 pm #

    I love the rendering of the image, and I love how much it looks like you… that’s what it does: looks like you. I don’t experience you that way. Yes you challenge, but you are so gentle in your persuasions… or don’t I know you well enough? And, I am so sorry Doug, but today that image requires a great risk of losing certain customers who WILL be offended. They will not even take the time to find out what a talented and great person you are to work with.

    • Doug Brown January 15, 2013 at 11:10 pm #

      Thanks for the comment Margriet. We were trying to have some fun with iconic images, but the takeaway seems to be that the logo is at odds with the brand personality. Neil and I will look at that.

  8. jj January 16, 2013 at 4:00 pm #

    is that priest’s collar? love it

    • Doug Brown January 16, 2013 at 6:34 pm #

      It is JJ. I didn’t get nailed by the Catholics at least. Yet.

      • VB January 17, 2013 at 12:09 am #

        *cough, cough* gee, I don’t know where the other Catholics are…I feel kinda foolish here all alone with the wooden stake and bucket of pitch–if I’d known this was a nailing event I’d have worn something less flame retardant. We usually leave nails and such up to the Romans and shift the blame over to the Judeo side of the Judeo Christian clubhouse…but if you insist….

        Seriously though, Doug, most Catholics can tell the difference between humor and sacrilege. The ones that can’t have no sense of humor to begin with, I think that it is a form of spiritual blindness to be pitied but not feared.

        *steps off soap box, removes insulated wimple, scratches back of head, shuffles off stage left*

      • Doug Brown January 17, 2013 at 3:58 am #

        This has been quite an amazing process to go through Mo. Quite apart from the value of feedback – which has been driven home to me – is the analysis of how that feedback is delivered. Look at Terrance Lam’s response for example – so thoughtful and considerate and helpful. And there’s feedback like yours, delivered with just good intent and humour, which reminds me that that a spoonful of sugar helps the medicine go down. 🙂

  9. thatguylam January 16, 2013 at 4:20 pm #

    tending to lean on the side of anti-gun for this logo. guns have their place but it was jarring. Especially considering what I know about you, when I first saw the original iteration I thought “why a gun? for Doug?” and I still tend to wonder more than anything. Marketing yourself’s a pain in the butt, innit?…

    • Doug Brown January 16, 2013 at 6:35 pm #

      It’s fraught with peril Lam. That’s why smart businesses always get an outsider to do it. 🙂

  10. Terrance Lam (@kinematicdigit) January 16, 2013 at 10:41 pm #

    I’m conflicted by this logo. Part of me loves it, the other part of me is concerned by it. As others mentioned, the use of the gun is an archetype that has negative implications that doesn’t to me suite ‘Brand Intervention’. The fact that you’re branding yourself as an ‘Interventionalist’ to me suggests, at least how I’m familiar with intervention, someone who cares enough, to put it all on the line to help you (including cutting ties).

    But the other archetype I love and hate is the priest. First it suggests in a good way that you’re a person of higher reasoning and rationale; someone that can be trusted for their opinion. However priests are also not judgemental (or not supposed to be) and intervention only comes from them when it is appropriate to do so (usually by third party)

    I love edgy design and to me this kind of edge suggests that you’re going to unfortunately hold your opinion in my face and I have no option but to accept it (because I’m being held at bay by that opinion).

    If I was to use an archetype that I think suits you better and could be incorporated into something similar to this style is more of a Professor Van Helsing. In that kind of iteration, you could continue to use a crossbow as a motif, and it would suggest more that your’e out to hunt out bad underworld branding (vampire marketing: bad marketing that convinces that more money needs to be infused to get results) and liberate businesses from those kinds of mistakes. Might be too hard to pull that off, but I think I’d rather see you as that kind of archetype, rather than a gun toting priest.

    • Doug Brown January 17, 2013 at 4:04 am #

      That’s just terrific feedback Terrance, thank you very much. It’s interesting that the nun with a gun, which has been my visual ID here for months, didn’t generate any commentary, but once I affixed my face to the imagery, that brought on the thinking.

      Neil and I are busy regrouping, taking thoughts like this and many others into consideration and we will be back with something shortly. Like Lam said in his comment above, marketing yourself can be tough! Look forward to your feedback on the next iteration. Cheers.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lightening the mood of the Brand Intervention logo « Brand Intervention - January 20, 2013

    […] couple of days ago I introduced my new logo. It generated a lot of […]

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

