Lightening the mood of the Brand Intervention logo

20 Jan

A couple of days ago I introduced my new logo. It generated a lot of commentary.

For some people, the logo glorified gun violence, and in the wake of Sandy Hook, there wasn’t much enthusiasm for the gun imagery.

Others gave it a thumbs-up, seeing in it the lampooning of a Tarantino-style archetype that was the intention.

The really astute pointed out that it was too far removed from who I am as a person and how I work. That argument right there convinced me that I needed to go back to the drawing board. Designer Neil Tran picked up on the public conversation, and went straight back at it. Yesterday he provided me with this new design.

logo Doug Brown brand intervention umbrella

It spoke to me right away.

Your opinions are important and I welcome them.

I’ve found this very public process to be invaluable. It brought home (my home this time) how critical it is for businesses to listen to the market and be prepared to respond and adapt.

True, you can’t have design by committee, and you certainly should never try to make everyone happy, because you can’t. But you can measure the feedback and determine if what you are doing – whatever it is – is going to meet your criteria for success.

So thanks for being part of the logo design team!

And for anyone who is lamenting the tonal shift from Tarantino to Mary Poppins, the truth is I was never that cool anyway.

22 Responses to “Lightening the mood of the Brand Intervention logo”

  1. Terrance Lam (@kinematicdigit) January 20, 2013 at 2:20 pm #

    Actually the first thing that popped to mind was Men in Black, second was Gene Kelly’s Singing in the Rain, and third was Mary Poppins.

    I like this approach and for me I like this a lot because it can read in many ways in many applications. The fact that I personally found three things I can identify with it and items that make me think of successful personal brands, means a lot to me.

    The whimsical nature of it and floating within your title translates a sensitivity that also includes cool. Frankly, I always thought it would be way cooler to float than to launch projectiles from my fingertips.

    Stormy weather in a person’s marketing? DB is floating in to the rescue (hmmmm come to think of it there a cool outlaw with the initials DB that also floated away in his escape).

    • Doug Brown January 20, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

      Hey thanks Terrance. Well without getting into all the creative rationale, which can really bog the creative down with too many reasons why, I think Neil was able to cross reference all kinds of things: the where, the who, the how, the what. I don’t know how he does it. As he noted to me, Mary Poppins was the original interventionist!

      • Michele Valensi January 20, 2013 at 9:46 pm #

        Absolute Mary Poppins – perseverance, eternal salvation – good over evil or flying over walking or the impossible over the plausible – always a happy ending (a happy customer?)

      • Doug Brown January 21, 2013 at 2:05 am #

        Flying over walking would certainly sum up the pace of my life life too! Gracias Michele.

  2. Margriet Aasman January 20, 2013 at 2:37 pm #

    I LOVE it! You are so cool! I’d hire you any day. Setting things right with heart and insight. What a team you and your designer are. I’m glad you pushed further to get to this fabulous solution.

    • Doug Brown January 20, 2013 at 2:41 pm #

      I’m going to have to make sure Neil sees this comment, because this logo was all him – and he gave up his weekend to find it. Thanks Margriet – what a wonderful affirmation!

  3. margaretdoyle January 20, 2013 at 7:49 pm #

    Yes. Like it much better because it allows for a story to begin, a conversation, whereas the other one pretty much scared me off a conversation and made me think of an armed intervention which as much as some brands might need it, maybe not the right climate to launch that approach in.:) I like the west coast touch of the ‘brellie, nicely done. I’d love to do a Q & A for my blog sometime if you are interested, would be great to explore some brand issues/ideas with you Doug. All the very best with your new venture. -Mags

    • Doug Brown January 20, 2013 at 8:10 pm #

      I appreciate your vote of confidence in this one Mags, thank you. My friend Chris Dallin suggested I keep the gun-toting one and use it to collect overdue invoices. 😉

      Absolutely, would love to do a Q&A for your own blog. Anytime. Let me know what works for you. Cheers!

      • margaretdoyle January 25, 2013 at 11:14 pm #

        Ok, how about next weekend? I’ll msg. you on FB.:)

  4. Shannon W (@scwink) January 20, 2013 at 10:20 pm #

    Well, a spoonful of sugar DOES help the medicine go down! I love it – great balance of whimsy and sophistication. If Dick Van Dyke met Don Draper, he’d work for brand intervention.

    • Doug Brown January 21, 2013 at 2:12 am #

      Shannon I don’t know if you noticed my “spoonful of sugar” response on the original logo post, but there are interesting forces at work in the universe and the fact that Neil and I both went there, he visually and I in language, independent of each other, is kinda cool. Thanks for that awesome comment!

  5. Andrea January 20, 2013 at 11:20 pm #

    Wo! Nailed it.

    This is tremendous. There is a sense of mystery, of magic, of wanting to know more. The last one told you the whole story in one beat and I simply moved on.

    Praticularly, I love the sense of ease and calm. In the daily chaos of business, that’s exactly what we need from a consultant. The shadow, the feet, just genius

    Personal take: I also really liked the pause you are now forced to take between brand and intervention. It speaks directly to what these companies need to do- Stop, take time to look around, listen, and then re-strategize. It just slows everything right down.

    Great work!
    Andrea

    • Doug Brown January 21, 2013 at 2:33 am #

      Andrea, I’m very glad that this second round worked for you, and I hope you feel it’s more in keeping with me and the way I work. It should make clear to everyone what a sympathetic designer Neil is. He worked with my directions first round and took things over in round two. Next time I will know just to hand it to him at the start! Thanks for letting me know.

  6. Yukari Peerless January 22, 2013 at 8:18 am #

    I like the new logo. Only problem I had was I didn’t immediately associate “Brand Intervention” and “Doug Poppins”…the last logo, at least, said that “gun on your head” meant “brand intervention”. But I’m not saying we should change back, I liked the last logo but absolutely the public was right, it wasn’t the right approach and it wasn’t very you.
    Having said that – after reading other comments, now I understand Doug Poppins flying in to help you with your brand. Now I get it. I’m just a little slow. Especially first thing in a morning. Good luck!

    • Doug Brown January 22, 2013 at 8:21 am #

      Still a tagline to come and some language to go up on my new site Yukari, both of which will more fully tell the Brand Intervention story. The logo is just the first piece of the puzzle. I’m glad you like it…and please don’t mistakenly introduce me to anyone as Doug Poppins! 🙂

  7. JC January 22, 2013 at 9:33 am #

    Three words: suave, tailored and prepared. Nice logo!

    • Doug Brown January 22, 2013 at 10:07 am #

      I’ll take that JC! Thanks for the cool thumbs-up.

  8. Lynne DeCew (@lynnedq) January 22, 2013 at 4:34 pm #

    For some reason Mary Poppins didn’t occur to me. Instead, I saw surrealist Rene Magritte crossed with Mad Men – a very apt visual metaphor for what you do. Kudos for inviting your fans to express their views, and (speaking for the anti-gun lobby) thanks for listening.

  9. Lynne DeCew (@lynnedq) January 22, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

    P.S. Here’s the Magritte painting I was thinking of: http://uploads1.wikipaintings.org/images/rene-magritte.jpg!Portrait.jpg

    • Doug Brown January 22, 2013 at 5:32 pm #

      The whole Mary Poppins thing was just a punchline between Neil and I, and not the story. Neil would know best the dark places of inspiration he visited!

      I didn’t know the name of the artist who did the floating englishmen, but now I do – and I agree that there is a sense of Magritte’s surrealism in this logo. Love that you saw some Mad Men in there too Lynne.

  10. VB January 23, 2013 at 5:49 pm #

    In the interests of keeping my comments shorter than the original post: I love the new logo. It conveys objectivity, confidence, authority and whimsy. Well done you.
    And as far as not being cool as Tarantino, have you seen the guy? That’s a face that spent a lot of time looking at the world through locker vents waiting for the janitor to get him out.
    You is my hero, Doug.

    • Doug Brown January 23, 2013 at 6:39 pm #

      LOL!!! That’s a classic. I bet even Tarantino would get a laugh out of that one.

      I’m so glad you like this iteration, because you were very supportive of the previous one and I didn’t want you to think I had led with my chin getting here. Working on my website now and seeing just how strong this logo is and the whimsical things I might do with it.

      I have to throw the props back at Neil on this one. He’s the hero here. Big heart, huge talent. I’m just the piece of meat with the brollie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

