You’ve never seen a job interview like this before

25 Feb

Job interviews

When I wrote in this recent post that successful brands wrap themselves in the brand promise from in the inside out, I could very well have been writing about Heineken.

They know who they are as a company and see absolute value in hiring people who share their vision. To that end, they’ve created the brilliant video below, which demonstrates the extent to which they will go to ensure their new hires can authentically carry the brand promise forward.

Using a hidden camera, the Dutch beer-maker subjects their interview candidates to a series of tests to separate the wheat from the barley.

There’s nothing quite like the interviewer passing out in front of nervous job seekers to see what they’re made of!

 

Of course, this is also a clever viral marketing campaign for Heineken, one that avoids hard-selling the product in favour of soft-selling the brand.

Wickedly smart.

The Brand Interventionist Recommends

Whatever your brand promise, it needs to be lived internally if it’s to be consistently communicated externally.

Think about how your business could align your hiring procedures more closely with what you stand for as a company and what your brand personality projects.

Thanks to Carol Vincent for bringing this vid to my attention!

 

13 Responses to “You’ve never seen a job interview like this before”

  1. Amy February 25, 2013 at 9:22 pm #

    I love this. Interviewing for a job is the most demoralizing thing ever. Any company that can make the process personal and make applicants truly expose their core personality has got it going on.
    Lately, I’ve had to endure my first job interviews in thirteen years. The latest one, I was not expecting much and just went in totally relaxed. They were a great bunch of folks and at one point they actually asked, “What typical interview question haven’t we asked yet?” and I told them the “what is my greatest weakness” question. To which I replied, “knowing too much.” They laughed. I got the job.

    • Doug Brown February 25, 2013 at 9:28 pm #

      Don’t these people know who they were interviewing!!? Listen Amy, if you ever, god forbid, find yourself on the job market again, use me as a reference. Fix it or deal. I will set them straight.

      Hey doesn’t surprise me at all that you got the gig.

      • Amy February 25, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

        Oh, Doug. I appreciate your loyalty and your offer of support. Alas, my celebrity hasn’t yet crossed the bounds of the Internet into “real life.” And it’s only a part-time gig working for the local university. If I’m lucky, it’s all I’ll need to tide me over until I land a lucrative contract with a big-time book publisher. I can dream.

      • Doug Brown February 25, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

        There is celebrity beyond the Interwebs??

        Seriously Amy, talent is never confined by media, nor is one’s job indicative of one’s potential. Jimmy Carter was a peanut farmer.

  2. Amy February 25, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Hey, that’s why I said “yet.” 🙂
    I feel it in my bones that I’m bound for bigger and better things. It’s only a matter of time.
    And I know for a fact that my mom hasn’t sent you a check in ages, so your unsolicited praise warms my heart. You’re the best!

    • Doug Brown February 25, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      My unsolicited “geographically relevant” (Plains, Georgia) praise!

      Anyway, I told mom she had a few freebies coming her way. Lord knows the woman has shown where her heart’s at.

      I’m a big fan of your writing Amy and I look forward to cracking some celebratory bevvies with you (over the Internet of course) when the offline world catches up with the online one.

      • Amy February 25, 2013 at 10:01 pm #

        Internet bevvies all around when that happens! One day, though, I will have a real-world drink with you. Count on it!

  3. mickmarketingmillermick February 27, 2013 at 3:30 pm #

    I thoroughly enjoyed the video. A creative way to interview people for a job. Lately, I’ve thought long and hard about how I could use video to market/sell myself to employers. Could this idea be used in the same way?

    • Doug Brown February 27, 2013 at 3:36 pm #

      I think you have to figure out what you want to say about yourself (your brand promise) before you start down the tactics path Mick. Tactics are the HOW to the brand’s WHAT. Can video be effective? Definitely – as long as it’s in service of your brand promise.

      • Mick Miller March 3, 2013 at 2:14 pm #

        I attended a presentation about building your brand identity at Camosun College last month. What advice do you give to people who are developing, or trying to develop their personal brand identity? It is harder to do than I thought.

  4. Doug Brown March 3, 2013 at 8:24 pm #

    Mick, as with a business, your personal brand has to be authentic. So you start with who you are and what you have to offer. In the same way that corporate brands go through an evaluation of their values and opportunities – or a SWOT – you need to do a similar analysis of what you bring to the party.

    After that’s done, I suggest creating an elevator pitch for yourself (no longer than 30 seconds, preferably half that) and bounce it off some people you respect, who know you well, and see you how close you got to nailing your key strengths. Then make sure your CV, social media channels (especially Linkedin), website and other touchpoints line up.

  5. Andrea December 3, 2013 at 11:33 am #

    So great. Someone once told me a comedian can’t tell you they’re funny, they just have to be funny and you can decide. ( he was a smart one) Yet, so many interviews are structured to the former. I wish there was more of this done. I teared up a bit there at the end for good ol’guy.

    • Doug Brown December 3, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

      It is so great. I should acknowledge that a comedian of a certain type – a Joey Bishop, for example – actually could get laughs saying he was funny.

      What I like most about this promotion is that it puts every business that wants to attract great people on notice that they have to step up.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

Just another guy with a camera

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

