The Brand Intervention website goes live and other funky vibes

5 Mar

I don’t know about you, but I think 2013 is shaping up to be a lot more fun than 2012. Seems like there was a lot of drama going on last year – I’m blaming the Mayans, but you can throw stones at your catalyst of choice.

 

What is so cool about 2013 for me already is the people I’ve gotten to collaborate with: clients, co-workers and strategic partners.

I have two of those individuals to thank for my new Brand Intervention website, which went live today.

CLICK TO SEE MY NEW SITE

>> Megan Louie designed and developed it, virtually overnight.

>> Neil Tran provided the stellar logo.

With my client list steadily growing, and Carol Vincent and her team keeping me on my toes at Redbird Communications, I’m going like a lizard down a waterslide.

I’m going to end this with my all-time favourite boogie for you to groove to. I’ve been truckin’ to this funky little gem (not the prettiest mental image, I admit) for nearly 40 years, but 2013 is the year that it finally makes sense to me. UH!

 

21 Responses to “The Brand Intervention website goes live and other funky vibes”

  1. chillzy March 5, 2013 at 7:47 am #

    You Funkmeister Doug — you have good taste in music as well as copy.

    • Doug Brown March 5, 2013 at 7:54 am #

      Ok, that comment is officially going on my tombstone. Thanks!

  2. maureen March 5, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    Nice post, fun poll too. Well done and congratulations on putting the pieces back together.
    But listening to funk stirs up a lot of badly edited memories involving tight perms, shiny clothes, big shoes and a whole lot of shag carpet so, if you don’t mind, I’ll boogie off to something more Ramone.

    xxoo

    • Doug Brown March 5, 2013 at 10:17 am #

      You have bad memories of tight perms and big shoes Moe? Doing the shuck and jive in ankle-deep shag…collars splayed to my shoulder-bones, shirt undone to my navel… and I was 12. 🙂 Good editing here.

      Keep on truckin’ momma!

  3. TV Amanda March 5, 2013 at 10:34 am #

    Doug you’re my inspiration. That is all.

    • Doug Brown March 5, 2013 at 11:10 am #

      I’ve got an extra umbrella Amanda…

      THANK YOU.

  4. veronicacay March 5, 2013 at 1:42 pm #

    HI Doug, Love the new website – and I don’t want to rain on your parade – but was it a conscious decision to use Flash on your website which doesn’t work on ipads and iphones?

    • Doug Brown March 5, 2013 at 2:16 pm #

      A mobile-friendly version coming up Veronica! Thanks for the nice comment.

      • veronicacay March 5, 2013 at 3:02 pm #

        Great news 🙂

      • Doug Brown April 10, 2013 at 12:59 pm #

        The mobile version has now been live for a week Veronica. My bud Mike Kirk built it in jquery, so the animation is still there but it doesn’t require Flash.

      • veronicacay April 12, 2013 at 2:18 pm #

        thanks Doug – I could do with a bud like Mike 🙂

      • Doug Brown April 12, 2013 at 9:00 pm #

        Let me know if you’d like me to make the introduction. In addition to being an insanely reasonable person, he is also extra-talented and gets all that stuff.

      • veronicacay April 12, 2013 at 9:27 pm #

        thanks Doug I shall keep that in mind appreciate the offer – cheers

  5. regetable March 5, 2013 at 9:10 pm #

    Love the new site, Doug — congrats on moving through, and beyond, your annus horribilis — and how.
    Love the portfolio site too — has that been recently revamped too, or am I late to the ball, as usual…? Love how simple and clean it is, letting the work speak for itself.
    Cheering you on in your new ventures,
    Reg

    • Doug Brown March 6, 2013 at 1:56 am #

      Thanks Reg. You know, that portfolio site was built more than 10 years ago, with the intention of lasting. I simply update the work. Design-wise it hasn’t changed at all. Rose Pietrovito did it for me, I think back in 2002. Simple and clean should really be a mantra for design work in my area – as you say to let the work speak for itself. Great to have a comment from you!

  6. Mary Broadland March 5, 2013 at 9:51 pm #

    Congratulations Doug!!! Looking good! You’re like the Mary Poppins of Advertising!

    • Doug Brown March 6, 2013 at 1:57 am #

      Mary Poppins was the original interventionist … from one Mary to another! 🙂

  7. Tom Hudock March 5, 2013 at 11:29 pm #

    Simple. Clean. Refreshing.

    [sorry that sounds like I’m taste testing a summer beer. How about a fist bump instead.]

    • Doug Brown March 6, 2013 at 1:57 am #

      How about a summer beer instead? Thanks Tom!

  8. Alan Brown March 6, 2013 at 6:37 am #

    Doug: Isn’t it gratifying to know that you have the support of so many friends? You know you’re NO. 1 with me! Dad.

    • Doug Brown March 6, 2013 at 6:47 am #

      You can’t do anything without good people in your corner, Dad. And you’ve been my chief cornerman. Love you.

Leave a Reply

Amy C. Amy Do.

Amy fall down.

Son of the Morning Light

All images are copyrighted & owned by the photographer who created them. Under no circumstances shall these digital files be used, copied, displayed or pulled from this site without the expressed written consent of the photographer.

LE WOOD SHOP ANEKA DEKO

BOUTIQUE DE DÉCORATION ET DE MOBILIER EN BOIS ET MATÉRIAUX RECYCLÉS

the Blacklight Arrow

David Blacker's Blog

TV Amanda

Blogging about all things tv, advertising & marketing

Ballentine Media Inc.

Vancouver Small and New Business Branding, Design and Social Media Strategy

BriWrites

BriWrites: Brian Hartz's Blog

Financial & General Copywriter

Barry Hill, MBA (Ivey)

